Introduction

The work of the organisations listed below comprises or includes the production of systematic reviews and/or guidance and/or training on conducting systematic reviews.

Don't forget that systematic reviews are also published in journals by academics. The library's lists of major databases provide access to MEDLINE, CINAHL with Full Text, SocINDEX with Full Text, Web of Science and other databases which contain details of systematic reviews published in journal articles. 

Major players and sources : Health

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the "leading resource for systematic reviews in health care". 

Cochrane Reviews are prepared by authors who register titles with one of 52 Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review Group focuses on a specific topic area and is led by a Co-ordinating Editor(s) and an editorial team. The Cochrane Review Groups provide authors with methodological and editorial support and manage the editorial process, including peer review.

 

Joanna Briggs Institute

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the "international not-for-profit, research and development Centre within the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medical at the University of Adelaide, South Australia."  It collaborates widely with other affiliated organisations including the Scottish Centre for Evidence-based Multi-professional Practice based at Robert Gordon University. 

The JBI produces systematic reviews.  It is possible for academics to apply to author systematic reviews on already identified topics or to suggest a topic to the JBI. JBI also provides comprehensive systematic review training.  Free access is given to some systematic reviews in the JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports.

 

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

CRD (based at the University of York) specialises in "evidence synthesis, assembling and analysing data from multiple research studies to generate policy relevant research".  As part of this work, CRD produces high quality systematic reviews across a wide range of health care topics.  Many of these reviews have informed national policy. The CRD database provides details of systematic reviews produced by the CRD and other bodies and groups.

 

EPPI-Centre

The remit of the Centre includes "developing methods for systematic reviews and research syntheses, conducting reviews, supporting others to undertake reviews, and providing guidance and training in this area."  A chronological list of systematic reviews provides details of individual reviews while the Index to the Knowledge Library allows users to "search for the key messages within specific subject areas to which EPPI-Centre reviews have contributed".

Major players and sources: Social sciences and social work

Campbell Collaboration

The Campbell Collaboration "promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice".  The Campbell Library contains copies of systematic reviews, protocols and titles of registered topics.

Business and management

Center for Evidence-Based Management

The Center was established in 2011 "as a non-profit  organization by  an international group  of management scholars and practitioners. Its primary mission is to promote evidence-based practice in the field of management (helping managers and organizations make better decisions)."

Its website provides access to resources on evidence-based management (EBMgt) for students and lecturers including the booklet Evidence-Based Practice: The Basic Principles and a useful frequently asked questions section.

Searching for systematic reviews on library databases

While it is a rather blunt instrument, adding the phrase "systematic review" to a search on databases such as Medline, CINAHL with Full Text and Web of Science may help to narrow your search results to those articles containing systematic reviews (although you may also find articles which comment on systematic reviews).