Dictionaries

Example - dictionary with author(s) or editor(s), print edition

(Scroll down for associated examples, including online dictionaries.)

Element

Example, including punctuation

Author(s) or editor(s)

Colman, M.

Year of publication

2015

Title of dictionary (italics)

Oxford Dictionary of Psychology (4th ed.)

Edition (if not first edition)

 

City of publication (with country or U.S. state)

Oxford, UK

Publisher

Oxford University Press

 

The citation in your text will be

(Colman, 2015)

or, if you have quoted directly,

(Colman, 2015, p.254).

If you have used the author's name in your sentence then only the year of publication, with a page reference if necessary, is placed after it in brackets, eg

Colman (2015) defines it in the Oxford Dictionary of Psychology as ...

or, if you have quoted directly,

Colman (2015, p. 179) defines it in the Oxford Dictionary of Psychology as “...

Reference list:

Colman, M. (2015). Oxford Dictionary of Psychology (4th ed). Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.

Associated examples

Dictionary with no editor given, print version

Oxford Dictionary of English (3rd ed.). (2010). Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.

In-text citation: (Oxford Dictionary of English, 2010)

Dictionary (online version) with no editor given, no date, edition not shown

In this case the editor or author (which we are not given for this source) is replaced by the term that is being defined.

Inferiority complex (n.d.). In APA Dictionary of Psychology. Retrieved from https://dictionary.apa.org/inferiority-complex

In-text citation: (APA Dictionary of Psychology, n.d.)

APA Dictionary of Psychology, print version, with editor, 2nd edition

Vandenbos, G. R. (Ed.). (2015). APA Dictionary of Psychology (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association

In-text citation: (Vandenbos, 2015)