CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL with Full text contains full-text articles from over 600 nursing and allied health journals, plus details of articles from over 2000 additional journals.
As well as full coverage of nursing and midwifery topics the database also covers topics relating to physiotherapy, occupational therapy, radiography, pharmacy, public health, health promotion, nutrition and biomedical sciences.
Finding Journal Articles
When searching for journal articles, break down your topic into keywords and phrases and enter them on different lines.
You can use various search techniques to add in extra terms, narrow results down and get more useful results:
- phrase searching i.e. including the terms in quotation marks to ensure they appear together, rather than being split up
- boolean search
- AND – narrows down the results. All connected terms must be included in the results
- OR – broadens out the results. Either connected term can be included in the results
- NOT – narrows down the results. The second term must be excluded from the results
If your search results are disappointing, try to think of different ways of expressing your topic. For "wound care" you could try "wound management" or just wounds.
If you add the wildcard symbol * to the root of a word you can find all words beginning with the letters in front of it - so diabet* would find diabetic and diabetes at the same time.
Click on the title of a particularly relevant article to view the summary and see what subject terms have been used to describe that article. You can then search on those terms.
To find out more about planning a search, creating search strategies and using different search techniques, explore our search techniques guide.
Narrowing Down Your Search
You can use the options on the left of the screen under Refine Results to narrow down your search. You may wish to slide across the bar under Publication Date to limit your results to those from a particular time period.
Further down this section you may find options to narrow your search by:
- source (type of material)
Please note that a limit, once applied, stays in place until you click to remove it.
Getting the Full Text
When you find an article that looks useful, check for a full text link such as a PDF full text link or a HTML full text link.
If available, click to open the article. Once you have clicked on PDF Full Text you will see icons allowing you to Download, Print or Email the full text, or add details of an article to a Folder by clicking on the relevant icon. You can then email the details of all articles added to your folder or transfer those details to RefWorks.
Full Text at RGU
If a PDF download is unavailable, it means we don't have the full text on this database. But, we may have it on a different service. Click on Full Text @ RGU / Check LibrarySearch for full text options to check.
If we have the full text article as part of another subscription, then you will be redirected to it. If we do not have the article, you will be told Full Text Not Available.
You may still be able to get the article, by requesting an Inter-Library Loan (ILLs). Remember to sign in to LibrarySearch to see this option. You can find out more about ILLs on our inter-library loans page.