Database Guides
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
An American database that covers current architecture and design literature. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
The database includes both abstract only articles and some full text material.
Finding Journal Articles
Start by thinking about what you want to search for and come up with some keywords and phrases to describe it. Then simply enter your terms in the search boxes at the top of the screen and click search to get a list of results.
You can also use various search techniques to add in extra terms, narrow results down and get more useful images:
- phrase searching i.e. including the terms in quotation marks to ensure they appear together rather than being split up and
- boolean search
- AND – narrows down the results. All connected terms must be included in the results
- OR – broadens out the results. Either connected term can be included in the results
- NOT – narrows down the results. The second term must be excluded from the results
The Select a field drop down menu has several options. The default i.e. Select a Field (optional) covers all the main record fields and is the best option to pick but if you want to you can use options like title and artist.
Top Tip!
If your search results are disappointing, try to think of different ways of expressing your topic (e.g. for ceramics, try pottery).
If you add the wildcard symbol * to the root of a word you can find all words beginning with the letters in front of it (e.g. paint* would find painting and painters at the same time).
Click on the title of a particularly relevant article to view the summary and see what subject terms have been used to describe that article. You can then search on those terms.
To find out more about planning a search, creating search strategies and using different search techniques, explore our search techniques guide.
Narrowing Down your Search
Once you have done your initial search, notice there are several filter options on the left of the screen which you can use to refine and narrow down your search.
You can slide the Publication Date bar to limit your results to those from a particular time period, as well as selecting a specific subject.
Please note that a limit once applied stays in place until you click to remove it.
Getting the Images
After running a search, you are taken to the results page. On the main results page you are given a small thumbnail of the image and you are told: title, dates, artist / creator, copyright info, and subjects. To find out more and get access to the image itself you need to click on the title.
You can choose to add details of an image to a Folder by clicking on the relevant icon. You can then email the details of all images added to your folder to yourself or transfer those details to RefWorks.
This takes you to a bigger record which has extra information like key terms, locations of the work, and a small description. It also has a link to the image. To get the image click the link that says view larger image. This will open the image in a new window, here you can right click to get more options and save the image.
Copyright
Please read and follow the copyright information provided with the images and only use them for individual education use.
In addition, please make sure to fully reference any images from this database.