Page Title

Vancouver Banner

RGU Vancouver Referencing

Maps

 

Maps

Template

Name of cartographer. Map title. Scale. City of publication: Publisher; Year of publication.


Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Ordnance Survey. Ballater, Glen Clova and surrounding area. 1:50 000. Southampton: Ordnance survey; 1990.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Ordnance Survey. Ballater, Glen Clova and surrounding area. 1:50 000. Southampton: Ordnance survey; 1990.

Other Sources

If you found the map...

 

in a book

If the author of the book is also the author of the illustration

Give the page reference and figure etc number in the citation in your text, eg:

(Smith 1956 p. 87 fig. 2.9)

and then simply provide a reference to the complete book in your reference list/bibliography at the end of your work.

 

If the author of the book is not the author of the illustration

Template

Author(s) of the map. Map title. In: Author(s)/editor(s) name(s). Book title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Page reference of the map.


Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Pearson C. Saxon England. In: Black J. Maps and history: constructing images of the past. New Haven (CT): Yale University Press; 1997. p. 84.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Black J. Maps and history: constructing images of the past. New Haven (CT): Yale University Press; 1997.

The page or figure reference of the map is NOT included in the bibliography.

in a journal article

If the author of the journal article is also the author of the illustration

Give the page reference and figure etc number in the citation in your text, eg:

(Smith 1956 p. 87 fig. 2.9)

and then simply provide a reference to the journal article in your reference list/bibliography at the end of your work.

If the author of the journal article is not the author of the illustration

Template

Author(s) of illustration. Illustration title. In: Author(s) name(s). Article title. Journal title. Year of publication; Volume(Issue): Page reference of article. Page reference of illustration.


Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) De Wit F. The map of De Wit. In: Timar G, Szekely B, Molnar G, Ferencz C, Kern A, Galambos C et al. Combination of historical maps and satellite images of the Banat region: re-appearance of an old wetland area. Global and Planetary Change. 2008; 62(1). p. 33.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Timar G, Szekely B, Molnar G, Ferencz C, Kern A, Galambos C et al. Combination of historical maps and satellite images of the Banat region: re-appearance of an old wetland area. Global and Planetary Change. 2008; 62(1): 29-38.

Only the page reference of the ARTICLE is included in the bibliography.

on a webpage

If the author of the webpage is also the author of the illustration

Give the page reference and figure etc number in the citation in your text, eg:

(Smith 1956 fig. 2.9)

and then simply provide a reference to the complete webpage in your reference list/bibliography at the end of your work.

If the author of the webpage is not the author of the illustration

Template

Author(s) of illustration. Illustration title. In: Author(s) name(s). Webpage title. [homepage on the Internet]. City of publication: Publisher; Publication date [updated date; cited date]. Available from: URL.


Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Homen D. The British Isles. In: British Library. Learning: mapping history - Elizabeth I's map of the British Isles, 1558. [homepage on the Internet]. London: British Library; 2008 [updated 2008 Apr 27; cited 2008 Jun 4]. Available from: http://www.bl.uk/learning/artimages.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

British Library. Learning: mapping history - Elizabeth I's map of the British Isles, 1558. [homepage on the Internet]. London: British Library; 2008 [updated 2008 Apr 27; cited 2008 Jun 4]. Available from: http://www.bl.uk/learning/artimages.