Books and Journals
As an RGU student, you can access our vast collection of materials, both physical and online. This is curated and maintained by the Library and your lecturers. It covers all subjects taught at RGU, so you're sure to find materials relevant to your course!
The Library should always be the starting point in your academic research.
Not just paper copies!
We are always looking at ways of increasing the accessibility to our materials and a lot of our resources are available online through our subscriptions.
In fact, whenever we acquire a new resource, we aim to prioritise purchasing the electronic version over paper.
Searching the Library Collections
The first place to go is LibrarySearch!
Remember to sign in to your Library Account, as it will allow a more complete list of results.
Using the friendly interface, you can look specifically for electronic resources. It's easy to access them instantly by following the links and signing in with your RGU username and password.
Log in to your library account to see what you have on loan, place a hold, renew items and more!
Your lecturers may refer you to databases to conduct research and find suitable sources for assignments. Databases are just online tools which allow you to search and access academic journals on a variety of topics.
|Business Source Complete
|Business, Management, Accounting, Finance, Communication, Tourism & Hospitality and more
|CINAHL with Full Text
|Nursing, Midwifery, Nutrition, Biomedical Studies, Pharmacy, Public Health, Social Work etc.
|Computing and Engineering
|Law, Construction Law, Employment Law, Forensic Science, Journalism and more
|Web of Science
Books by Post
As an online learner, you can easily request physical books to be sent to you by recorded delivery! In fact, you may borrow up to 15 books at a time. Thanks to automatic renewals, you may keep the books as long as you need them, as long as they aren't being recalled by other library members.
The time in which the books will reach you depends on where you are, and whether the book is on our shelves ready to go, or we need to recall it from someone else.
The postal loan service has now been extended to all students so please submit your requests in plenty of time. We're expecting a high demand for this service and whilst we will deal with all requests as quickly as possible we can't guarantee a timescale.
There is a short form where you have to make a couple of decisions. The most important field to check is the Pickup Location. Make sure that you set this to 'Home Address', otherwise, the field will default to University location, which means that we will expect you to come over and pick it up from the Library.
If you want the book to be sent to an alternative address, enter it in the Comment section.
Article & Chapter Requests
Are you interested in a book chapter or a particular article which is only available on paper? You don't need to wait for the book to be posted to you, we can scan it and send it via email!
You can quickly submit a request through LibrarySearch. Just fill in the quick form and read the terms and conditions carefully. Once your request is processed, it will be scanned and sent to you.
If you don't live in Aberdeen but would like to study in the quiet environment of a University Library, then most online learners can join the SCONUL scheme. SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to access study space and borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.
For full information, see our SCONUL Scheme page.
The Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service can source items for you if they are not available from our own print or electronic collections.
Sometimes we may struggle to borrow hard-copy books and journals on your behalf. We may be restricted to items that we can obtain in pdf format only. For more information see our inter-library loans page.
Costs for this service must be authorised by your School, so please be aware that this may take some time.
Referencing at RGU
Referencing is a critical aspect of writing any assignment and you will be asked to correctly reference all the sources and materials used in your work.
At RGU we use RGU Harvard, RGU Vancouver, APA and Oscola. The style depends on what your course requirements, but RGU Harvard is the most used.
We know it can be scary at first, especially if you haven't done it before, but don't worry! We are here to help with every aspect of referencing and have developed detailed guides for both styles.
How The Library Can Help You
|Referencing, RefWorks, LibrarySearch, Databases
|email@example.com or 01224 263450
|All Library queries
|firstname.lastname@example.org or 01224 263450
You can also send us messages and queries on Instagram and Twitter and we will answer as soon as possible during our office hours:
Library Opening Hours
The Library is currently open for Semester Opening Hours.
Our next period of 24/7 opening will be from 8am on Monday 8th April until 8pm on Friday 3rd May.