Page Title

Vancouver Banner

RGU Vancouver Referencing

Artwork - Reproduced

 

Artwork - Reproduced

You should use these templates if you have reproduced the illustrations of artwork in your assignment.

Art - Illustration of a work of art taken from a book and reproduced in your work

Source of illustration

 

A book

Template

Artist name. Artwork title. [Format of artwork]. Reproduced in: Name of author/editor of book. Book title. City of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Page reference of the image.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Renoir P-A. Madame Charpentier and her children. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Brown MR, editor. Picturing children. Aldershot: Ashgate; 2002. p. 29.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Renoir P-A. Madame Charpentier and her children. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Brown MR, editor. Picturing children. Aldershot: Ashgate; 2002.

A journal article

Template

Artist name. Artwork title. [Format of the artwork]. Reproduced in: Name of author(s). Article title. Journal title. Year of publication; Volume(Issue): Page reference of the image.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Walker K. Darkytown rebellion. [Cut paper and projection on wall]. Reproduced in: Heartney E. The long shadows of slavery. Art in America. 2007; 13(9). p. 43.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Walker K. Darkytown rebellion. [Cut paper and projection on wall]. Reproduced in: Heartney E. The long shadows of slavery. Art in America. 2007; 13(9): 42-48.

A webpage

Template

Artist name. Title of artwork. [Format of artwork]. Reproduced in: Author of webpage. Webpage title. [homepage on the Internet]. City of publication: Publisher; Year of publication [updated date; cited date]. Available from: URL.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Dali S. Soft construction with boiled beans (premonition of civil war). [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Metropolitan Museum of Art. Special exhibitions: current exhibitions. [homepage on the Internet]. New York (NY): Metropolitan Museum of Art; 2009 [updated 2007 Sep 13; cited 2009 Jan 28]. Available from: http://www.metmuseum.org/special/index.asp.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Dali S. Soft construction with boiled beans (premonition of civil war). [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Metropolitan Museum of Art. Special exhibitions: current exhibitions. [homepage on the Internet]. New York (NY): Metropolitan Museum of Art; 2009 [updated 2007 Sep 13; cited 2009 Jan 28]. Available from: http://www.metmuseum.org/special/index.asp.

An exhibition catalogue

By a Single Artist

Template

Artist name. Title of artwork. [Format of artwork]. Reproduced in: Artist name. Catalogue title with details of the gallery. Exhibition dates; City and country of the exhibition. City of publication of catalogue: Publisher; Year of publication of catalogue. Page reference of the image.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Deacon R. Siamese pink. [Ceramic sculpture]. Reproduced in: Deacon R. Richard Deacon: personals. Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Ikon Gallery; 2007 Jan 31 - Mar 18; Birmingham, UK. Birmingham: Ikon Gallery; 2007. p. 42.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Deacon R. Siamese pink. [Ceramic sculpture]. Reproduced in: Deacon R. Richard Deacon: personals. Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Ikon Gallery; 2007 Jan 31 - Mar 18; Birmingham, UK. Birmingham: Ikon Gallery; 2007.

The page reference of the image is NOT included in the bibliography.

By Several Artists

Template

Artist(s) name(s). Title of artwork. [Format of artwork]. Reproduced in: Name of gallery or sponsor of exhibition. Catalogue title with details of the gallery. Exhibition dates; City and country of the exhibition. City of publication of catalogue: Publisher; Year of publication of catalogue. Page reference of the image.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Hunter L. Cornfield, Fife. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Tate Gallery. Art from Europe. Catalogue of an exhibition at the Tate Gallery; 1987 Apr 15 - Jun 21; London, UK. London: Tate Gallery; 1987. p. 42.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Hunter L. Cornfield, Fife. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: Tate Gallery. Art from Europe. Catalogue of an exhibition at the Tate Gallery; 1987 Apr 15 - Jun 21; London, UK. London: Tate Gallery; 1987.

The page reference of the image is NOT included in the bibliography.

Explicitly Credited Author(s)

Template

Artist(s) name(s). Title of artwork. [Format of artwork]. Reproduced in: Author(s) of catalogue. Catalogue title with details of the gallery. Exhibition dates; City and country of the exhibition. City of publication of catalogue: Publisher; Year of publication of catalogue. Page reference of the image.

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Hogarth W. Hogarth painting the comic muse. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: House J, Hopkin D. Impressionists by the sea. Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Royal Academy of Arts; 2007 Jul 7 - 2008 Sep 30; London, UK. London: Royal Academy of Arts; 2007. p. 27.

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Hogarth W. Hogarth painting the comic muse. [Oil on canvas]. Reproduced in: House J, Hopkin D. Impressionists by the sea. Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Royal Academy of Arts; 2007 Jul 7 - 2008 Sep 30; London, UK. London: Royal Academy of Arts; 2007.

The page reference of the image is NOT included in the bibliography.

A newspaper article

Template

Artist name. Artwork title. [Format of the artwork]. Reproduced in: Name of author(s). Article title. Newspaper title. Date of publication. Page reference of the image(Column reference of image).

 

Endnote (arranged numerically by the citation number in the text)

(1) Munch E. The scream. [Oil, tempera and pastel on cardboard]. Reproduced in: Fouche G, Bowcott O. Tourists see Munch's Scream stolen. The Guardian. 2004 Aug 23; 1(col 3).

Bibliography (arranged alphabetically by author)

Munch E. The scream. [Oil, tempera and pastel on cardboard]. Reproduced in: Fouche G, Bowcott O. Tourists see Munch's Scream stolen. The Guardian. 2004 Aug 23.