Page Title

RGU Harvard Templates

Reference Material

menuBar

Intro

If you are using a screen reader to view this page, please be aware that the templates and examples contain important punctuation and formatting, such as commas, full stops, uppercase text and italics, that are a vital part of referencing. You may need to change the punctuation settings and other settings on your screen reader software in order to correctly hear this information. It may work best to turn on an indication for capital letters and to navigate the templates one character at a time to ensure that all punctuation and capital letters are announced correctly. If you have any problems with this, please contact the library.

Reference Books

Encyclopaediae

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

This template only applies where each entry has an identified author. Otherwise, just reference the encyclopaedia itself as a book and insert a page reference in the citation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Entry title. In: EDITOR(s) NAME(s) First initial(s). SURNAME, ed./eds. Encyclopediae title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher. Page reference for the individual entry.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Osborn 1976)

Osborn (1976) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Osborn 1976 p. 24)

According to Osborn (1976 p. 24), "..."

Reference List

OSBORN, F.J., 1976. Industrial housing estates. In: A. WHITTICK, ed. Encyclopedia of urban planning. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill. pp. 29-31.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

EDITOR'S SURNAME, First initial(s)., ed.,/eds., Publication year. Encyclopaedia Title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brady and Jaeger 2013)

Brady and Jaeger (2013) mention that...

Quoting

"..." (Brady and Jaeger 2013 p. 45)

As outlined by Brady and Jaeger (2013 p. 45), "..."

Reference List

BRADY, L.W. and YAEGER, T.E., eds., 2013. Encyclopedia of radiation oncology. Berlin, Germany: Springer.

Atlases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Johnson 1997)

Johnson (1997) shows that...

Quoting

"..." (Johnson 1997 p. 24)

As outlined by Johnson (1997 p. 24), "..."

Reference List

JOHNSON, S., 1997. Atlas & gazetteer of the railways of Ireland. Leicester: Midland.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., ed.,/eds., Publication year. Title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Boelens and Sander 2003)

Boelens and Sander (2003) show that...

Quoting

"..." (Boelens and Sander 2003 p. 32)

As outlined by Boelens and Sander (2003 p. 32), "..."

Reference List

BOELENS, L. and SANDER, W., eds., 2003. The big kan atlas: 100 maps on the urban network of the Arnhem-Nijmegen conglomeration. Rotterdam, Netherlands: 010.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

Atlas title. Publication year. City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(World Travel Atlas 2003)

World Travel Atlas (2003) shows that...

Quoting

"..." (World Travel Atlas 2003 p. 71)

According to the World Travel Atlas (2003 p. 71), "..."

Reference List

World travel atlas, 2003. Swanley: Highbury Columbus Travel.

Dictionaries

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Year of publication. Title of dictionary. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Singleton 2008)

Singleton (2008) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Singleton 2008 p. 12)

According to Singleton (2008 p. 12), "..."

Reference List

SINGLETON, P., 2008. Dictionary of DNA and genome technology. Malden, MA: Blackwell.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., ed., Year of publication. Title of dictionary. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Jupp 2006)

Jupp (2006) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Jupp 2006 p. 23)

According to Jupp (2006 p. 23), "..."

Reference List

JUPP, V., ed., 2006. The Sage dictionary of social research methods. London: Sage.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

Dictionary Title, Year of publication. City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Collins Polish dictionary 2007)

The Collins Polish dictionary (2007) mentions that...

Quoting

"..." (Collins Polish dictionary 2007 p. 170)

According to the Collins Polish dictionary (2007 p. 170), "..."

Reference List

Collins Polish dictionary, 2007. Glasgow: Collins.

Archival Material

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Title. [manuscript]. Collection where the material is held. Shelf mark. Archive/library where the material is held. Location of archive/library.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Turner 1906)

Turner (1906) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Turner 1906 p. 3)

According to Turner (1906 p. 3), "..."

Reference List

TURNER, P.S., 1906. Image of an artist. [manuscript]. Holden Collection. 600. Holden Library. London.

Maps

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

NAME OF CARTOGRAPHER, Publication year. Map title. Scale. Series (if applicable). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Ordnance Survey 1990)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally directly quote a map

Reference List

ORDNANCE SURVEY, 1990. Ballater, Glen Clova and surrounding area. 1:50 000. Landranger. Southampton: Ordnance Survey.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

Use the template for the source you found the map in (e.g. book, journal article, etc.)

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Smith 1956 p. 87 fig. 2.9)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally quote a map

Reference List

Full reference of the book/journal article/webpage.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR OF MAP SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Map publication year. Title of map. In: AUTHOR OF BOOK First initial(s). SURNAME, Book publication year. Book title. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher of the book. Page number of the map, figure number for the map.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Pearson 1869)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally directly quote a map

Reference List

PEARSON, C., 1869. Saxon England. In: J. BLACK, 1997. Maps and history: constructing images of the past. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press. p. 84, fig. 19.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR OF MAP SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Map publication year. Title of map. In: AUTHOR OF JOURNAL ARTICLE First initial(s). SURNAME, Article publication year. Article title. Journal title, Volume(Issue), Page reference of article, Page number of the map, figure number for the map.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(De Wit 1869)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally directly quote a map

Reference List

DE WIT, R., 1680. The map of De Wit. In: G. TIMAR et al., 2008. Combination of historical maps and satellite images of the Banat region: re-appearance of an old wetland area. Global and Planetary Change, 62(1), pp. 29-38. p.33, fig 4.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR OF MAP SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Map publication year. Title of map. In: WEBPAGE AUTHOR First initial(s). SURNAME, or ORGANISATION OR OWNER OF WEBSITE, Publication year. Webpage title. [online]. Publication city: Publisher. Available from: URL [Accessed date].

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Homen 1558)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally directly quote a map

Reference List

HOMEN, D., 1558. The British Isles. In: BRITISH LIBRARY, 2008. Learning: mapping history: Elizabeth I's map of the British Isles, 1558. [online]. London: British Library. Available from: http://www.bl.uk/learning/artimages/ [Accessed 4 June 2008].

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

GOOGLE MAPS, Publication year. Map title. [online]. Google. Available from: URL [Accessed date].

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Google Maps 2016)

Quoting

Not applicable as you would not normally quote a map

Reference List

GOOGLE MAPS, 2016. Map of Easterhouse churches. [online]. Google. Available from: Long Google Maps URL here [Accessed 24 March 2016].