Page Title

RGU Harvard Templates

Databases

menuBar

Intro

If you are using a screen reader to view this page, please be aware that the templates and examples contain important punctuation and formatting, such as commas, full stops, uppercase text and italics, that are a vital part of referencing. You may need to change the punctuation settings and other settings on your screen reader software in order to correctly hear this information. It may work best to turn on an indication for capital letters and to navigate the templates one character at a time to ensure that all punctuation and capital letters are announced correctly. If you have any problems with this, please contact the library.

Examples

Research Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

DATABASE DISTRIBUTOR, Last updated year. Name of database. [online]. Place of publication: Publisher. Available from: URL [Accessed date].

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Elsevier 2014)

Elsevier (2014) mentions that...

Quoting

"..." (Elsevier 2014)

As outlined by Elsevier (2014), "..."

Reference List

ELSEVIER, 2014. Compendex. [online]. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Elsevier. Available from: http://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url [Accessed 22 May 2014].

Accounting and Financial Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

BUREAU VAN DIJK, Last updated year. FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy). [online]. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Bureau Van Dijk. Available from: URL [Accessed date].

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Bureau Van Dijk 2015)

Bureau Van Dijk (2015) mentions that...

Quoting

"..." (Bureau Van Dijk 2015)

As outlined by Bureau Van Dijk (2015), "..."

Reference List

BUREAU VAN DIJK, 2015. FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy). [online]. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Bureau Van Dijk. Available from: the database long URL here [Accessed 5 March 2015].

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

BUREAU VAN DIJK, Last updated year. Osiris. [online]. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Bureau Van Dijk. Available from: URL [Accessed date].

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Bureau Van Dijk 2015)

Bureau Van Dijk (2015) mentions that...

Quoting

"..." (Bureau Van Dijk 2015)

As outlined by Bureau Van Dijk (2015), "..."

Reference List

BUREAU VAN DIJK, 2015. Osiris. [online]. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Bureau Van Dijk. Available from: the database long URL here [Accessed 5 June 2015].

Market Research Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Title (Month, if included). Edition (if not first). Place of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Scanlan 2016)

Scanlan (2016) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Scanlan 2016 p. 35)

As outlined by Scanlan (2016 p. 35), "..."

Reference List

SCANLAN, T., 2016. IBISWorld industry report P85.100: pre-primary education in the UK (May). London: IBISWorld.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

IBISWORLD, Publication year. Title (Month, if included). London: IBISWorld.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(IBISWorld 2015)

IBISWorld (2015) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (IBISWorld 2015 p. 35)

According to IBISWorld (2015 p. 35), "..."

Reference List

IBISWORLD, 2015. Business environment profile: alcohol consumption per capita (December). London: IBISWorld.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

MINTEL, Publication year. Title. Edition (if not first). London: Mintel Group Ltd.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Mintel 2013)

Mintel (2013) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Mintel 2013)

According to Mintel (2013), "..."

Reference List

MINTEL, 2013. Sandwiches and lunchtime foods. London: Mintel Group Ltd.