Page Title

RGU Harvard Templates

Dictionaries

menuBar

Intro

If you are using a screen reader to view this page, please be aware that the templates and examples contain important punctuation and formatting, such as commas, full stops, uppercase text and italics, that are a vital part of referencing. You may need to change the punctuation settings and other settings on your screen reader software in order to correctly hear this information. It may work best to turn on an indication for capital letters and to navigate the templates one character at a time to ensure that all punctuation and capital letters are announced correctly. If you have any problems with this, please contact the library.

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

How do I reference books with author(s)?

Examples

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Year of publication. Title of dictionary. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Singleton 2008)

Singleton (2008) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Singleton 2008 p. 12)

According to Singleton (2008 p. 12), "..."

Reference List

SINGLETON, P., 2008. Dictionary of DNA and genome technology. Malden, MA: Blackwell.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., ed., Year of publication. Title of dictionary. Edition (if not first). City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Jupp 2006)

Jupp (2006) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Jupp 2006 p. 23)

According to Jupp (2006 p. 23), "..."

Reference List

JUPP, V., ed., 2006. The Sage dictionary of social research methods. London: Sage.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

Dictionary Title, Year of publication. City of publication: Publisher.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Collins Polish dictionary 2007)

The Collins Polish dictionary (2007) mentions that...

Quoting

"..." (Collins Polish dictionary 2007 p. 170)

According to the Collins Polish dictionary (2007 p. 170), "..."

Reference List

Collins Polish dictionary, 2007. Glasgow: Collins.