Page Title

RGU Harvard Templates

Chapter of Edited Books

menuBar

Intro

If you are using a screen reader to view this page, please be aware that the templates and examples contain important punctuation and formatting, such as commas, full stops, uppercase text and italics, that are a vital part of referencing. You may need to change the punctuation settings and other settings on your screen reader software in order to correctly hear this information. It may work best to turn on an indication for capital letters and to navigate the templates one character at a time to ensure that all punctuation and capital letters are announced correctly. If you have any problems with this, please contact the library.

Chapter of Edited Books

Books with 1 Editor

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME, ed. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Golding 1981)

Golding (1981) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Golding 1981 p. 120)

According to Golding (1981 p. 120), "..."

Reference List

GOLDING, J., 1981. Cubism. In: N. STANGOS, ed. Concepts of modern art. revised ed. London: Thames and Hudson. pp. 50-78.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME, ed. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown and Jones 2014)

Brown and Jones (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown and Jones 2014 p. 43)

According to Brown and Jones (2014 p. 43), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. and JONES, A.B., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, ed. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 3RD AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME, ed. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown, Jones and Smith 2014)

Brown, Jones and Smith (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown, Jones and Smith 2014 p. 72)

According to Brown, Jones and Smith (2014 p. 72), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., JONES, A.B. and SMITH, D.E., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, ed. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). et al., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME, ed. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown et al. 2014)

Brown et al. (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown et al. 2014 p. 89)

According to Brown et al. (2014 p. 89), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. et al., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, ed. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

Books with 2 Editors

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown 2014)

Brown (2014) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown 2014 p. 55)

According to Brown (2014 p. 55), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR and A. NICHOL, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown and Jones 2014)

Brown and Jones (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown and Jones 2014 p. 34)

According to Brown and Jones (2014 p. 34), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. and JONES, A.B., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR and A. NICHOL, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 3RD AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown, Jones and Smith 2014)

Brown, Jones and Smith (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown, Jones and Smith 2014 p. 63)

According to Brown, Jones and Smith (2014 p. 63), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., JONES, A.B. and SMITH, D.E., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR and A. NICHOL, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). et al., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown et al. 2014)

Brown et al. (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown et al. 2014 p. 16)

According to Brown et al. (2014 p. 16), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. et al., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR and A. NICHOL, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

Books with 3 Editors

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 3RD EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown 2014)

Brown (2014) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown 2014 p. 55)

According to Brown (2014 p. 55), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, A. NICHOL and V. FARMER, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 3RD EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown and Jones 2014)

Brown and Jones (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown and Jones 2014 p. 34)

According to Brown and Jones (2014 p. 34), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. and JONES, A.B., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, A. NICHOL and V. FARMER, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 3RD AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 3RD EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown, Jones and Smith 2014)

Brown, Jones and Smith (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown, Jones and Smith 2014 p. 45)

According to Brown, Jones and Smith (2014 p. 45), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., JONES, A.B. and SMITH, D.E., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, A. NICHOL and V. FARMER, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). et al., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). 1ST EDITOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). 2ND EDITOR'S SURNAME and First Initial(s). 3RD EDITOR'S SURNAME, eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown et al. 2014)

Brown et al. (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown et al. p. 24)

According to Brown et al. (2014 p. 24), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. et al., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR, A. NICHOL and V. FARMER, eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

Books with more than 3 Editors

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME et al., eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown 2014)

Brown (2014) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown 2014 p. 55)

According to Brown (2014 p. 55), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR et al., eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME et al., eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown and Geddes 2014)

Brown and Geddes (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown and Geddes 2014 p. 92)

According to Brown and Geddes (2014 p. 92), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. and GEDDES, M., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR et al., eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., 2ND AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). and 3RD AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s)., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME et al., eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown, Adam and Moynagh 2014)

Brown, Adam and Moynagh (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown, Adam and Moynagh 2014 p. 33)

According to Brown, Adam and Moynagh (2014 p. 33), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M., ADAM, L. and MOYNAGH, J., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR et al., eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting (CAPITALS, italics), and any punctuation.

1ST AUTHOR'S SURNAME, First Initial(s). et al., Publication year. Chapter title. In: First Initial(s). EDITOR'S SURNAME et al., eds. Book title. Edition(if not first). Place of publication: Publisher. Chapter page range.

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Brown et al. 2014)

Brown et al. (2014) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Brown et al. 2014 p. 44)

According to Brown et al. (2014 p. 44), "..."

Reference List

BROWN, C.M. et al., 2014. Referencing is bliss. In: L. MAIR et al., eds. The library companion. Aberdeen: Bibliographic Press. pp. 16-44.