Harvard Templates

Databases

If you are using a screen reader to view this page, please be aware that the templates and examples contain important punctuation and formatting, such as commas, full stops, uppercase text and italics, that are a vital part of referencing. You may need to change the punctuation settings and other settings on your screen reader software in order to correctly hear this information. It may work best to turn on an indication for capital letters and to navigate the templates one character at a time to ensure that all punctuation and capital letters are announced correctly. If you have any problems with this, please contact the library.

Research Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Database Distributor (last updated year) Name of database. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(EBSCO, 2024)

EBSCO (2024) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (EBSCO, 2024)

According to EBSCO (2024) "..."

Reference List

EBSCO (2024) Business Source Complete. Available at: https://web-p-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.rgu.ac.uk/ehost/search/advanced (Accessed: 10 February 2024).

Notes

It is not common to reference an entire database. The Library recommends that you should normally reference content sourced from databases using the appropriate templates e.g. journal articles.

Accounting and Financial Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Database (Year of report) Title of report. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(FAME, 2024)

A FAME report (2024) shows that...

Quoting

"..." (FAME, 2024)

The company report available from FAME (2024) states "..."

Reference List

FAME (2024) Marks and Spencer PLC. Available at: https://fame-r1.bvdinfo.com/version-20240321-1-1/fame/1/Companies/Report/seq/0?sl=1717506620279 (Accessed: 8 April 2024).

Market Research Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Author (Year of publication) Title (with month if included). Edition (if not the first). Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(O'Malley, 2024)

O'Malley (2024) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (O'Malley, 2024)

According to O'Malley (2024) "..."

Reference List

O'Malley, M. (2024) Shifts in digital advertising: the impact of technology and evolving consumer behaviour. Available at: https://www-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.rgu.ac.uk/blog/shifts-in-digital-advertising/99/1126/ (Accessed: 16 April 2024).

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Database (Year of publication) Title (with month if included). Edition (if not the first). Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(IBISWorld, 2024)

An IBISWorld report (2024) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (IBISWorld, 2024)

The report available from IBISWorld (2024) states that "..."

Reference List

IBISWorld (2024) UK industry fast facts. Available at: https://www-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.rgu.ac.uk/blog/uk-industry-fast-facts/ (Accessed: 5 April 2024).

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Author(s) (Year of report) Title of report. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Finnegan, 2024)

Finnegan (2024) suggests that...

Quoting

"..." (Finnegan, 2024)

According to Finnegan (2024) "..."

Reference List

Finnegan, C. (2024) Attitudes towards healthy eating - UK - 2024. Available at: https://clients.mintel.com/content/report/attitudes-towards-healthy-eating-uk-2024 (Accessed: 18 April 2024).

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, including text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Database (Year of report) Title of report. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Mintel, 2024)

A Mintel report (2024) shows that...

Quoting

"..." (Mintel, 2024)

According a Mintel report (2024) "..."

Reference List

Mintel (2024) Digital lives of consumers - UK - 2024. Available at: https://data.mintel.com/databook/digital-lives-of-consumers-uk-2024/ (Accessed: 18 April 2024).

Healthcare Databases

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, inluding text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Author(s) (Year of publication) Title of the trial. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Volume(Issue), Page numbers. Available at: DOI

or

Author(s) (Year of publication) Title of the trial. Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. Volume(Issue), Page numbers. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Revishvili et al., 2024)

Revishvili et al. (2024) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Revishvili et al., 2024, p. 23)

According to Revishvili et al. (2024, p. 23) "..."

Reference List

Revishvili, A. et al. (2023) Outcomes of the pulmonary vein ablation for the prevention of atrial fibrillation after CABG. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 18(1). Available at: https://doi-org.ezproxy.rgu.ac.uk/10.1177/15569845221146369g (Accessed: 25 May 2024).

You can copy this URL to share a direct link to this referencing template:

Template

Please ensure that you follow the template exactly, inluding text formatting such as italics and punctuation.

Author(s) (Year of publication) Title of the trial. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Volume(Issue), Page numbers. Available at: DOI

or

Author(s) (Year of publication) Title of the trial. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Volume(Issue), Page numbers. Available at: URL (Accessed: Date).

Example

Citation
Paraphrasing / Summarising

(Pucker et al., 2024)

Pucker et al. (2024) suggest that...

Quoting

"..." (Pucker et al., 2024, p. 54)

The study available from Pucker et al. (2024, p. 54) states that "..."

Reference List

Pucker, A.D et al. (2024) LipiFlow for the treatment of dry eye disease. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 2. Available at: https://doi-org.ezproxy.rgu.ac.uk/10.1002/14651858.CD015448.pub2 (Accessed: 16 June 2024).